The Taunting of Resistance

Resistance=that which holds me back from accomplishing and pursuing what I am uniquely positioned or gifted to do.

Primary Source of Resistance=enemy within.

The enemy from within foils me.  Foils me by providing a litany of rationalizations and excuses for why I can’t pursue what I’m called to pursue.

Resistance deftly utilizes three very effective strategies to thwart my life and my Genius (see previous blog).

1. Fear. Failure. Success.  Family/spouse/friend approval.  Change. Embarrassment.

  1. Distraction.  Good things.  Work, family, personal, Facebook, dating, social life, ‘responsibilities,’ volunteering.   You name it.  Endless variety of distractions.

3. Lacking.  I lack the time, money, talent, knowledge, age, experience, education, resume…on and on.  Fill in the _____.  I might have several or all of the above.

Chances are Resistance has been attacking you on several fronts as it has been me.

Resistance’s goal is not to wound or disable.  Resistance aims to kill.  Its target is the epicenter of our being: our genius, our soul, the unique and priceless gift we were put on earth to give and that no one else has but us.”

Steven Pressfield, The War of Art.

What do the conquerors of Resistance do differently that the rest of us? Have you seen the movie the Social Network? Resistance taunted Mark Zuckerberg with all three strategies.  Let’s make a list of many justifiable reasons (resistance strategies) Mark had for not starting Facebook and for canning it multiple times along the way:

  • Way too young.
  • No experience starting and running a company.
  • No money.
  • Not many friends and few social connections.
  • Girls could get really offended and it could hurt his dating life (and did initially).  Huge deal for 20 year old college guy.
  • School administration could discipline and punish him for violations.
  • Lots of school work.
  • Potential lawsuits from former ‘almost’ business partners.
  • Loads of other social opportunities.
  • Could lose the ‘security’ of having a college degree if expelled.

Wow.  Can you see yourself using some of the same excuses?

Bear in mind, Mark’s story is a compelling example you’ll be able to use to gain leverage on your own resistance.  A few questions to ask yourself:

  1. What ways am I encountering resistance?
  2. How am I encountering resistance from within for what I know I must do? What excuses am I really adept at utilizing?

So how did Mark overcome all of these seemingly insurmountable obstacles?  How did he conquer Resistance?

Mark had three major keys that vaulted him and Facebook to tremendous success.  Leverage. Neuro Associations. Massive Action. (Next Blog).

Leave a Reply

